Lavdeep Kaur Sandhu – PFoI_People

“The past was never easy for me, but I hope that the future will be. Although I hardly express my emotions to anyone, but deep inside, they make me feel very uncomfortable. I try to keep myself preoccupied with various activities because when I am alone, thoughts of my parents’ health status haunt me.
My dad has been differently abled since birth. He was diagnosed with Polio. He couldn’t get proper treatment because of the lack of medical facilities before independence. My grandparents tried ‘Desi Jugaad’ to treat him, but that obviously didn’t work. He had polio, but this disability wasn’t strong enough to shake his determination. He worked with dedication in the fields of other farmers and saved the money so that he could buy his own land one day. He knew that land will be a valuable asset in the future. My mom is also differently abled. My parents always had faith in me and they kept saving money for my education. No girl in my society goes for higher education, but I am here at IIT Gandhinagar because of my parents’ strong will and determination.
I never felt the poverty, perhaps, through which my parents had gone. It was all easy for me as dad fulfilled all my needs. I remember that day when I asked my dad to buy some extra clothes, but he refused, saying “Why do I need that? I have three pieces and that is enough for me”. He is wearing those three pieces of clothing for almost 5-6 years. I was actually helpless during that time.
Now, I wish that my IIT days get over as soon as possible so that I can go back to my home and stay with parents and help them as much as I can.”

What’s your plan after graduation?
I will put all my effort to elevate the education system in the villages of Rajasthan. Education is one of the most important factors that would make our future generations strong.

Why do you want to do that?
Because the background where I have been, I am very fortunate that I am able to avail this kind of high-quality education, but there are many people like me with whom I played all the day, but I left them somewhere and now they are nowhere. One of the reasons I think is ‘education’.

Leave a Reply

